V for Void

Today morning, I threw out my pillow and mattress
along with their covers, because somehow
even after dozens of wash cycles, they smelled of you.
Today afternoon as the temperature soared to 40℃,
I stood under scalding hot water under the shower,
just to burn every cell of my body that you have touched.
Today evening, I bit my lips and gnawed on my raw skin
till my lips ceased to be flesh but still, they tasted like you.
Tonight, I brought a young, new man home,
hoping he could make me feel the way you made me feel
but of course, he couldn’t.
And here I am, lying awake at 4 in the morning,
wondering what coloured sheets should I buy next.
Written for the #AtoZChallenge2017

Featured Image Courtesy: Simran Rohra (clicked herself)
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

