A for Acceptance

Crossed path with a stranger one day,
And engaged in small talk like one may.
When it was time to go our own way,
He said he would love to meet again.

Agreeing, I left as fast as I could,
Wondering if I shouldn’t or should.
Thinking that it won’t do me any good,
I tried to forget about that encounter.

Met many strangers in the years that came,
But somehow they all felt the same.
Feelings that I couldn’t tame,
I didn’t know where I was going.

Years later, I met him again,
On a day it was all about to rain.
Maybe he sensed all my pain,
And asked why didn’t I call him after that day.

I confessed that I was afraid,
Because never had, at one place, my heart stayed.
From pain to jealousy to grief, it always swayed
And I didn’t know how to anchor it.

He gave me a knowing smile,
Cursed himself for not realizing all this while.
He said though conditions currently are a bit hostile,
We should still give it a try.

Soon the rain stopped and it was time to leave,
He hoped that this time I won’t deceive.
I asked for his name to keep it up my sleeve,
He said, “For you, it’s ‘acceptance‘.”

 

Written for the #AtoZChallenge2017

Featured Image Courtesy: Simran Rohra
2 thoughts on “A for Acceptance

Add yours

  1. niice! i cannot rhyme to save my life, so always amazed when people can rhyme effortlessly. it gets a tad labored at the ‘confession’ stanza, so rework on it if you like. well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

